Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain, KM Birla Among 106 Padma Award Recipients

Late Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav is among Padma Award recipients

New Delhi:

Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain, KM Birla and Sudha Murty are among 106 Padma Award recipients this year. The government announced the names on the eve of the 74th Republic Day.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian awards of the country – are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri, for excellence in various disciplines and fields of activities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

Mr Yadav, the late chief of the Samajwadi Party, has been conferred the Padma Vibhushan in the field of public affairs. Mr Hussain received the Padma Vibhushan in the field of art. Mr Birla got the Padma Bhushan for trade and industry. Ms Murty received the Padma Bhushan for social work.

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order, and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field.

These awards will be conferred by President Droupadi Murmu at ceremonial functions to be held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March and April every.

This year, the President has approved of 106 Padma Awards including 3 duo cases (in a duo
case, the award is counted as one).

The list comprises six Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri Awards.

Source link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *