Gulf War Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a have a look at the 1990-1991 Persian Gulf War. In reaction to Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait in August 1990, the United States and different nations introduced army operations referred to as Operation Desert Shield and Operation Desert Storm.

The Allied coalition was made up of 39 countries: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Kuwait, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Syria, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The US Department of Defense has estimated the incremental prices of the Gulf War at $61 billion, with US allies offering about $54 billion of that – Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and different Gulf states coated $36 billion. Germany and Japan coated $16 billion.

Estimates of Iraqi soldier deaths vary from 1,500 to 100,000.

About 697,000 US troops had been deployed to the Persian Gulf area, with 382 in-theater casualties.

August 2, 1990 – Iraq invades Kuwait. Reportedly, Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein determined to invade the small, oil-rich country to be able to repay money owed incurred right through Iraq’s eight-year conflict with Iran.

August 2, 1990 – The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) passes a resolution denouncing Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait.

August 6, 1990 – The UNSC imposes trade and financial sanctions on Iraq.

August 7, 1990 – US President George H. W. Bush orders the beginning of Operation Desert Shield.

August 8, 1990 – Iraq declares its formal annexation of Kuwait. The following day, the UNSC unanimously adopts Resolution 662 which broadcasts the annexation unlawful and null and void.

November 29, 1990 – The UNSC authorizes use of pressure after January 15, 1991.

January 16-17, 1991 – The air marketing campaign of Operation Desert Storm starts.

February 23-24, 1991 – The allied floor attack starts.

February 27, 1991 – Baghdad radio declares that Iraq will conform to UN resolutions.

February 27, 1991 – Kuwait is liberated.

February 28, 1991 – Coalition assaults in opposition to Iraq finish.

March 14, 1991 – Kuwait’s emir returns house after greater than seven months in exile.

April 6, 1991 – Iraq accepts the phrases of a ceasefire settlement.

April 11, 1991 – The ceasefire formally takes effect.

Source Link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *